Alhaji Lawal Yusuf Othman, National President, NARTO

The newly-elected National President of the Nigerian Association of Road Transport Owners, NARTO, Alhaji Lawal Yusuf Othman has vowed to work on the legacy left behind by the former president of the association to rebrand the association.

Speaking with Haulage & Logistics Magazine during a telephone conversation, shortly after his election on Thursday in Abuja, Othman expressed gratitude to members of the association for reposing such confidence on him and elected him to lead the association.

The new president, however, promised to work with necessary stakeholders to rebrand and rebuild the association. “I feel happy to be elected the president of the association. I am grateful to God. The leadership of the association has also not left the stakeholders.

‘We are going to rejuvenate the association, we are going to rebrand the association and take it to a higher level”, the new president said.

Othman takes over the Mantle of the leadership from Alhaji Ibrahim Bataiya, who led the association for eight years as a two-term president.

Until his election on Thursday as the president of the association, Othman was the Chairman, Kaduna state chapter of the association.

Meanwhile, Chief Ayoola Sadiku has been re-elected as the 1st Deputy President of the association, while Prince Oke Okpala is elected 2nd Deputy President. Also, Rabiu Haruna is elected as the vice president wet cargo, while Sidi Abubakar is elected vice president dry cargo. Mudi Ibrahim has also emerged as vice president Commuter.

Also, the former Chairman, South West Zone of the association, Alhaji Ganiyu Salami has been elected as the National Financial Secretary of the association, while the Former Zonal Chairman, North East, Alhaji Mohammed Aikali Hassan was elected the National Treasurer of the Association.

Other elected national officers of the association are Emmanuel Wilson National Public Relation Officer, Chime Ezeokoye Welfare officer, Musa Audu Legal Adviser and Bashir Bello- National Auditor.

The association has also elected its Zonal chairmen, Alhaji Bola Ogunyele has been elected as the Chairman of South West Zone. Other Zonal Chairmen are Haruna Sulaiman Kalo-Chairman North Central, Mukhari Shafa -Chairman-North East, Sani Danfulani- Chairman North West, Sunday Nwata Chairman South-East and David Ewere -Chairman, South-South Zone.

Scroll to Top